top of page

Cup of Coffee Animation Project

Updated: Dec 12, 2018

Although hand drawn animation can be

very time consuming, I enjoyed the challenge of animating a narrative using this technique as I hadn't done this before.

Even though I removed some frames when line testing my initial animatic, it was still quite long, and included a lot of scenes which weren't needed in order to tell the narrative. I therefore removed more frames before beginning to

animate, and I continued to remove scenes when animating, as I still felt it had a very slow start.

I tried to use a range of shots and camera angles to make my film more interesting, which I feel worked well. This also helped to focus attention on the most important actions, such as when the characters drink their coffee, and capture the moment their mood changes as a result.

There are a couple of shots I feel could have been better. I wanted the action of the first character putting her coffee cup down after she has finished drinking to be quicker. However, since I only used 8fps, when I tried removing frames it made it look too unnatural. I therefore think I would need to completely redraw this shot in order to properly fix the spacing.

After the second character has spat out his coffee, I would have liked the coffee to drip down the screen for perhaps a second longer, but I unfortunately didn't have time to draw more frames for this.

The spacing in the last shot definitely needs to be fixed. I didn't draw enough in-between frames, which made the walk cycle far too quick. I tried to slow it down by holding some of the frames, however this made it look very unnatural. I also think the character needs to move closer to the camera during this walk cycle, as it currently looks like he is walking on the spot. Apart from these few shots, I am quite happy with the overall look of my film.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page