top of page

Fixing My 3D Model

Since the ghost lamp I created in 3DS Max didn't look at all like it should when I imported it into SketchUp ready to add a geolocation, I wanted to find a way to fix the model to allow me to see it in Google Earth with all of the compontents still included and in the right place.

I first tried removing all of the groups I had made in 3DS Max to simplify the model, however this didn't work. I eventually managed to solve the problem by highlighting all of the compontents and selecting 'Reset XForm' in the utilities tab.

After this was fixed, I then added textures to my ghost lamp. Unfortunately when I imported the 3DS file into SketchUp these textures were not imported with the model. I tried all of the different solutions provided, including simplifying the names of the texture files and making sure they were saved somewhere local on the computer's hard drive, however neither of these allowed the textures to be imported. After a quick search on Google I came across another possible solution on SketchUp's website, which explained that the texture files must be in the same folder as the 3DS file to allow SketchUp to find them. I moved all of the files into the same folder, once again imported the 3DS file into SketchUp, and the textures were finally visible.

I was then able to add a geolocation and import my completed model, with the textures and all of the components in the right place, into Google Earth to see what it would look like in my chosen location, the Regent's Park Open Air Theatre.

I'm really happy with how my ghost lamp looks in the centre of the stage, however I would still like to refine it in parts, particularly the shape of the base.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page